top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.S. Brae

What I'm Reading


I was reading The Lords of the Underworld series by Gena Showalter. I’ve finished Torin’s book, but until I can afford the rest of the series, I’m going to have to switch to a different author for a while.

So, this week, I’m on a bit of a Betty Neels kick. I’m finishing up Philomena’s Miracle, and then moving onto Saturday’s Child. I’ve read them before, but I’m a big Betty fan.

I love her books for many reasons. I’m a sucker for romance in general, and the innocence of Betty books make it a truly sweet read. When I read one of her books, I have expectations for them. I expect a rich doctor of some kind, often Dutch, and a woman who loves him, even if it takes her forever to realise. Jersey dresses, afternoon tea, dogs and cats, trips to the Netherlands, big houses, inspecting linen closets, a man who help the doctor and a woman who looks after the house. Often there’s a beautiful but cruel woman who wears the latest fashions and noisy bracelets.

It’s the vintage feel of her books that lures me. There are no passionate sex scenes just romance. Chaste kisses and a promise of what will be.

Betty Neels is one of my favourite writers, and I will always reread her books over and over.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page