top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.S. Brae

Single Valentine

Valentine's Day rolls around again!

As a single woman, this day, where all the social media streams and timelines are filled with the romantic gestures of those in love, it can be a tough one to get through. It’s no coincidence that singles awareness falls around the same time.


Supermarkets turn into florists. Their brand colours change to pink and red. It looks like cupid exploded.


Well, I've been single a long time, so Valentines is generally a day that takes me by surprise, but as I always say, being single isn't so bad, and over time I've become really good at it. I sleep diagonally in bed, I eat what I want and mostly my time is my own, but that doesn’t mean I don’t miss the feel of another body in my bed. (Not counting the dog, no matter how much room she takes up.) It just means that to give up the things I love about being single will take someone special.


I’ve read a lot of articles that list the best reasons to be single and if I’m honest, they don’t always apply to me. Things like ‘spending time with your friends’ only works when they’re not in relationships which all of my friends are. ‘Having sex with anyone you want’ – well I’m too prudish to take advantage of that one. My reasons for being single are simple but honest. I don’t want to be with someone who makes me wish I was alone.


I’m not a bitter single woman. I’m a hopeful single woman. And I’m a patient single woman. I’m okay being by myself until I meet the one who changes that, and if that doesn’t happen, then I can honestly say, I’m pretty damn happy being single.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page