top of page
  • Writer's pictureK.S. Brae

A 2020 Christmas


This year Christmas is going to be a little different for most people, and as a single woman, it’s going to be a very quiet one for me this year.


I’m fortunate that I am in a tier that still allows me to be with my parents on Christmas day, and as for the rest of the days around Christmas, luckily for me I’m an introvert writer with a dog and I am happy in my own company with just my furbaby at my side. Usually, anyway, but at Christmas, even I like to spend time with the people I love. Heck, this is usually my most sociable time of the year.


But not this year. To find the joy in Christmas this year, I’m making it for myself. This is what I’ve done to make it a little bit special.


Little Festive Touches

There’s a tree, there’s tinsel, there are cosy fairy lights and candles. I’ve got Christmas pyjamas and fuzzy socks. I’ve got a fluffy blanket on the sofa. I’ve got fancy bath bombs for a lush bath, which to be honest, will be taken with a glass of wine. I’m going for a snug Christmas this year


Food Glorious Food

You gotta have the treats at Christmas. I haven’t restricted myself at all this year. I’ve got fancy cheeses and I spent extra on hot chocolate to get fancy flavours. I’ve baked myself some treats and tonight, I’ll be making Christmas punch. I’ve got whisky and cream to make my coffees Irish. I love nice food at Christmas, and I admit, this year, I’ve gone a little extra. But I’m doing what I need to for a good festive season.


I love Presents

I have no husband, no children yet, and my friends and I have reached the stage in our life where we don’t really buy each other gifts anymore, and dang it, I do like presents. It’s just the natural progression of life that you do get less, the older you get. So, I’ve bought them for myself. And I am excited about them. On Christmas morning, when it’s just me and my dog, (who also has a huge stocking full of gifts) I will have some surprises.

This year, I’ve ordered a couple of subscription boxes and I’ve put them aside to look at on Christmas day. I ordered two beauty ones, and a book one, and I have no idea what will be in any of them because I haven’t looked online to find out. As well as that, I ordered an Ann Summers Advent Calendar with some risqué gifts inside all of which will be opened on Christmas day.


For me it’s not about having the perfect Christmas, it’s about finding joy in the moments. Even the ones I’ve set up for myself. I don’t have the picture-perfect family, and it won’t be a Christmas Card holiday, but it will be whatever I make of it, and I’ve always loved Christmas. This year isn’t going to be any different. I’ve got treats, I’ve got books, I’ve got dogs, and I’ve got people who love me, even if I don’t get to see them, or even if we won’t all be in a room together. We’re still family and it’s still Christmas.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page